Tiddlywiki for note taking

Anyone here use tiddlywiki for collecting and organizing notes?

I have been using it for last 5 or 6 months and found it to be well suiting my needs. I have been a long time OneNote user from may be 2013. Started trying out new apps this year. I have used notion, obsidian and logseq for sometime. Remnote I have used myself and suggested it to my wife for her studies because of its flashcard feature. I finally settled with tiddlywiki, although it took a long time for me to learn how to use it and to customize it to my preferences.

2 Likes

I tried out Tiddly a while back and found it really powerful and interesting, but ultimately a bit too clunky and hard to use for my needs. At the time it also lacked bi-directional links, which several offshoots aimed to fix:

https://giffmex.org/stroll/stroll.html

https://akhater.github.io/drift/

Does Tiddly do native bi-directional now? Have you checked out the forks above?

In general, what decided you on TiddlyWiki vs. Obsidian, Logseq, etc?

I spent soo much time learning about tiddly since i found it interesting after using for some days. The good thing about tiddly is that it’s core features are mature and hence the experience is smooth.And it’s highly customizable so that we can make it the way we want it to be using plug ins ( I think about 600 or more plug ins are available https://dynalist.io/d/zUP-nIWu2FFoXH-oM7L7d9DM ).

I have tried many tiddlywiki variants including the ones you have mentioned like stroll, tiddlyroam, drift.

Other interesting implementation of tiddlywiki are (it’s better to try open the below links in a laptop or desktop. Mobile may fail to show the full functionality of these tiddlywikis)

1. Outliner with two stories, floating sidebar and references, daily notes, TODOs, query as in Roam Research

2. Horizontally sliding tiddler similar to Andy Matuschak’s Evergreen notes

3. Muuri story view

4. Tiddly research for creating flashcards

5. Project Manager