Is Notion competent and trustworthy?

I’ve been using Notion for nearly 2 years now, but have consistently hesitated to go “all-in”. At first it was because of the time and effort involved in migrating from my old tool(s) (most significantly Quip from Salesforce). But more recently it’s because I am starting to seriously question the competence of Notion’s team and be concerned that they won’t be able to execute well long-term and actually implement features that matter to people. This is going to be a long post, and may seem like it’s just repeating a common refrain, but I hope there’s a bit more meat here based on some research I’ve done on Notion’s team and history. To begin, a bit of backstory:

In the first 6 months after I discovered it (first half of 2019), Notion had a healthy, even exciting pace of development and feature releases, and we saw early mentions of their API, time line, and other things. Then, fairly quickly and without warning, new releases started becoming less frequent, and the features included in them (if any) were less and less significant. “Time line” (Gantt) stopped being mentioned, and only recently was finally released, more than a year past its initial mention (where it had stood on their “coming soon” list for months before disappearing). API still isn’t here yet (more on that in a moment).

For over a year there was no clear indication about what had happened to their dev and release cadence, no clear acknowledgement of it from any official Notion source. Then this article was released in August of this year: