Introduction and Systems Review

Hi there, Productivists!

This is partially an intro post and partially an ask for help. My name is Sadie (although that’s an internet pseudonym and I may at some point switch to my given name once I decide how readily findable I want to be). I’m a 32-year-old attorney/compliance consultant/grad student/learning hobbyist who is NOT at all all versed in computer science, programming, etc. Trying to teach myself, but it’s best to assume I know nothing about it.

I posted in the Discord server recently about my frustration in developing a workflow and system that’s sustainable for me, and difficulty choosing the right tools for the job. I thought a post here to crowd-source some feedback based on a more comprehensive description of my needs and situation might be fruitful.

So here goes!

My use cases:

• I’m a part-time compliance consultant in the investment management space.
  • I’m going back to grad school again in a couple weeks, first for a masters and then hopefully a PhD (in a humanities/social sciences field).
  • I’m a hobbyist learner. As in, I research, read, take notes, etc. for fun and not strictly for work or school. Probably at least partially because -
  • I’m neurodivergent (ADHD and Autistic). This is relevant because task management is important in my system, as is being easily distracted, overwhelmed, and cycling between hyper focus and minimal focus.

I use a work-provided MacBook Pro as my primary computer. My personal computer is currently a PC but that will probably change when it needs replacing/I don’t have the work Mac anymore.

Types of tasks I need to accomplish and the tool I’m currently using:

• Email (Outlook - required for work/school so I use it as the client for my personal Gmail account as well)
  • File storage (Google Drive and OneDrive)
  • Task management (Tick Tick and bullet journal)
  • Note taking/making (Evernote? Paper notebooks? Nothing consistent)