Intro - Dylan Steck, founder of Cortex

Hi all,
My name is Dylan and I’m an interface designer and developer from New York City. I’m the founder of Stecknologies and I’ve been building a “tool for action” for the past 2.5 years in pre-alpha(launching private beta in the next 3-6 months).

I’m 18 and started coding when I was 10, but didn’t get serious about theory, design, and other aspects that influence software until about 2.5 years ago, when I began working on this project(Cortex by Stecknologies). My main focus as an interface designer/developer is creating humane technology. I was heavily influenced by The Humane Interface by Jef Raskin and I try and focus on creating experiences that use cognitive science and psychology to help users better engage with what they’re doing, understand the content they’re viewing, and return to the natural world around them. I also want to solve many of the pain-points in everyday interactions that seem so easy-to-fix, yet are so cumbersome.

Without diving too much into the product before launch, a “tool for action”(I actually have a blog post on the topic coming out soon) is a tool that lets a user organize their actions online(eg. creating files, reading content, searching DB/wiki’s for info, using apps, etc) with the same specificity that a tool for thought(namely Roam) lets a knowledge worker organize their thoughts. It is my belief that, as great as tools for thought can be to help us store and build upon ideas, they don’t help us better interact with(comprehend and re-use) that material, especially within context. I can’t count how many times I’ve said I’d sit down and organize my Zettelkasten, and walked away from a three hour organization session with a completely new note structure than before. In addition, content in a tool for thought isn’t presented in an engaging manner, and does not let you “play” with data and ideas in the same way a scientist can use advanced tools to simulate tests.