Hi, my name is David Garner. I'm looking for a sounding board for my organizational quest

I retired almost two and a half years ago. My degree is in Electronics Engineering. I have done electronic circuit design, including printed circuit board design. layout and some programming in various assembly languages, but I spent most of the last half of my career coding BASIC (QB4.5, VB6 & VBA) and C for embedded devices.

I have several Windows laptops, a bunch of Android devices (phone and tablets) and a couple of Chromebooks (which will run Android and Linux apps). I bought and have played some with a couple of Raspberry Pi 3’s. We have several Google Home devices and several Amazon Echo devices. I enjoy comparing how they work/don’t work. I’ve used X-10 Power Line Control devices to control various lights throughout my houses for many years. Home automation is something I love to play with and dream about. I’m very financially conservative, so I try to avoid spending the huge amounts that one could easily blow (invest) in the latest technology.

My dream, since I was a child, was to build something to help organize my life (long before I knew what a computer was). I was introduced to computers in collage. Both in Electronics Circuits classes and as tools for classes like Chemistry.

Throughout my life, I’ve tried to automate the things that I could.

My first, favorite computer, was the Model 100 Notebook. I purchased the 3.5 inch portable, battery powered, disk drive and a lot of option ROMS. I programmed all kinds of things on the built-in BASIC. With the external 360K floppy disk storage, and 32KB battery backed RAM, it was a very powerful machine for its time. I bought a checkbook program and accounting software and merged them together. I was able to print checks for my real estate businesses.

Connecting to Compuserve was fun, but quite time consuming at 300 baud.